SCOTT ROSS: Pāramitās

3 September - 12 December 2020

“We set this house on fire forgetting that we live within.”

Jim HarrisonSaving Daylight


The Pāramitās in Buddhist philosophy are the six perfections for the cultivation of character. A consistent, transitory experience in present-ness, that both is, and leads to, enlightenment. This work represents the ever unfolding and formation of these philosophical ideas in the renovation of character. The intangible made permanent, as a focal point for meditation, and the embodiment of an idea.


The six perfections translate from Sanskrit to English as:


Dānapāramitā       -     generosity

Śilāpāramitā          -     morality

Ksāntipāramitā      -    tolerance

Vīryapāramitā       -     energy

Dhyānapāramitā   -    meditation       

Prajñāpāramitā     -     wisdom